dharmaya yasase rthaya
kamaya sva-janaya ca
pancadha vibhajan vittam
ihamutra ca modate
dharmayafor religion; yasasefor ones reputation; arthayafor increasing ones opulence; kamayafor increasing sense gratification; sva-janaya caand for maintaining ones family members; pancadhafor these five different objectives; vibhajandividing; vittamhis accumulated wealth; ihain this world; amutrathe next world; caand; modatehe enjoys.
Therefore one who is in full knowledge should divide his accumulated wealth in five partsfor religion, for reputation, for opulence, for sense gratification and for the maintenance of his family members. Such a person is happy in this world and in the next.
The sastras enjoin that if one has money one should divide all that he has accumulated into five divisionsone part for religion, one part for reputation, one part for opulence, one part for sense gratification and one part to maintain the members of his family. At the present, however, because people are bereft of all knowledge, they spend all their money for the satisfaction of their family. Srila Rupa Gosvami taught us by his own example by using fifty percent of his accumulated wealth for Krsna, twenty-five percent for his own self, and twenty-five percent for the members of his family. Ones main purpose should be to advance in Krsna consciousness. This will include dharma, artha and kama. However, because ones family members expect some profit, one should also satisfy them by giving them a portion of ones accumulated wealth. This is a sastric injunction.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/sb/8/19/37

Previous: SB 8.19.36     Next: SB 8.19.38

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada