tams tathavasitan viksya
yajnah sarva-gato harih
yamaih parivrto devair
hatvasasat tri-vistapam
tanthe demons and Raksasas; tathain that way; avasitanwho were determined to devour Svayambhuva Manu; viksyaupon observing; yajnahLord Visnu, known as Yajna; sarva-gatahwho is seated in everyones heart; harihthe Supreme Personality of Godhead; yamaihwith His sons named the Yamas; parivrtahsurrounded; devaihby the demigods; hatvaafter killing (the demons); asasatruled (taking the post of Indra); tri-vistapamthe heavenly planets.
The Supreme Lord, Visnu, who sits in everyones heart, appearing as Yajnapati, observed that the Raksasas and demons were going to devour Svayambhuva Manu. Thus the Lord, accompanied by His sons named the Yamas and by all the other demigods, killed the demons and Raksasas. He then took the post of Indra and began to rule the heavenly kingdom.
The various names of the demigodsLord Brahma, Lord Siva, Lord Indra and so onare not personal names; they are names of different posts. In this regard, we understand that Lord Visnu sometimes becomes Brahma or Indra when there is no suitable person to occupy these posts.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/sb/8/1/18

Previous: SB 8.1.17     Next: SB 8.1.19

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada