ekadasam svikaranam mameti
sayyam aham dvadasam eka ahuh
gandha—smell; akrti—form; sparsa—touch; rasa—taste; sravamsi—and sound; visarga—evacuating; rati—sexual intercourse; arti—movement; abhijalpa—speaking; silpah—grasping or releasing; ekadasam—eleventh; svikaranam—accepting as; mama—mine; iti—thus; sayyam—this body; aham—I; dvadasam—twelfth; eke—some; ahuh—have said.
Sound, touch, form, taste and smell are the objects of the five knowledge-acquiring senses. Speech, touch, movement, evacuation and sexual intercourse are the objects of the working senses. Besides this, there is another conception by which one thinks, “This is my body, this is my society, this is my family, this is my nation,” and so forth. This eleventh function, that of the mind, is called the false ego. According to some philosophers, this is the twelfth function, and its field of activity is the body.
There are different objects for the eleven items. Through the nose we can smell, by the eyes we can see, by the ears we can hear, and in this way we gather knowledge. Similarly, there are the karmendriyas, the working senses—the hands, legs, genitals, rectum, mouth and so forth. When the false ego expands, it makes one think. “This is my body, family, society, country,” etc.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/sb/5/11/10

Previous: SB 5.11.9     Next: SB 5.11.11

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada