narada uvaca
rajan kim dhyayase dirgham
mukhena parisusyata
kim va na risyate kamo
dharmo varthena samyutah
naradah uvaca—the great sage Narada Muni said; rajan—my dear King; kim—what; dhyayase—thinking of; dirgham—very deeply; mukhena—with your face; parisusyata—as if drying up; kim va—whether; na—not; risyate—been lost; kamah—sense gratification; dharmah—religious rituals; va—or; arthena—with economic development; samyutah—along with.
The great sage Narada inquired: My dear King, your face appears to be withering up, and you look like you have been thinking of something for a very long time. Why is that? Have you been hampered in following your path of religious rites, economic development and sense gratification?
The four stages of advancement of human civilisation are religiosity, economic development, sense gratification and, for some, the stage of liberation. Narada Muni did not inquire from the King about his liberation, but only regarding the state management, which is meant for advancement of the three principles religiosity, economic development and sense gratification. Since those who engage in such activities are not interested in liberation, Narada did not inquire from the King about this. Liberation is meant for persons who have lost all interest in religious ritualistic ceremonies, economic development and sense gratification.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/sb/4/8/64

Previous: SB 4.8.63     Next: SB 4.8.65

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada