sangrahena mayakhyatah
pratisargas tavanagha
trih srutvaitat puman punyam
vidhunoty atmano malam
sangrahena—in summary; maya—by me; akhyatah—is explained; pratisargah—cause of devastation; tava—your; anagha—O pure one; trih—three times; srutva—having heard; etat—this description; puman—one who; punyam—piety; vidhunoti—washes off; atmanah—of the soul; malam—contamination.
My dear Vidura, I have summarily explained the causes of devastation. One who hears this description three times attains piety and washes the sinful contamination from his soul.
The creation takes place on the basis of goodness, but devastation takes place because of irreligion. That is the way of material creation and devastation. Here it is stated that the cause of devastation is Adharma, or Irreligion. The descendants of Irreligion and Falsity, born one after another, are Bluffing, Cheating, Greed, Cunning, Anger, Envy, Quarrel, Harsh Speech, Death, Fear, Severe Pain and Hell. All these descendants are described as signs of devastation. If a person is pious and hears about these causes of devastation, he will feel hatred for all these, and that will cause his advancement in a life of piety. Piety refers to the process of cleansing the heart. As recommended by Lord Caitanya, one has to cleanse the dust from the mirror of the mind, and then advancement on the path of liberation begins. Here also the same process is recommended. Malam means: “contamination.” We should learn to despise all the causes of devastation, beginning from irreligion and cheating, and then we shall be able to make advancement in a life of piety. The possibility of our attaining Krsna consciousness will be easier, and we shall not be subjected to repeated devastation. The present life is repeated birth and death, but if we seek the path of liberation, we may be saved from repeated suffering.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/sb/4/8/5

Previous: SB 4.8.4     Next: SB 4.8.6

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada