pravrttam ca nivrttam ca
sastram pancala-samjnitam
pitr-yanam deva-yanam
srotrac chruta-dharad vrajet
pravrttam—the process of sense enjoyment; ca—also; nivrttam—the process of detachment; ca—also; sastram—scripture; pancalaPancala; samjnitam—is described as; pitr-yanam—going to Pitrloka; deva-yanam—going to Devaloka; srotrat—by hearing; sruta-dharat—by the companion named Srutadhara; vrajet—one can be elevated.
Narada Muni continued: The city spoken of as Daksina-pancala represents the scriptures meant for directing pravrtti, the process of sense enjoyment in fruitive activities. The other city, named Uttara-pancala, represents the scriptures meant for decreasing fruitive activities and increasing knowledge. The living entity receives different kinds of knowledge by means of two ears, and some living entities are promoted to Pitrloka and some to Devaloka. All this is made possible by the two ears.
The Vedas are known as sruti, and the knowledge received from them through aural reception is called sruta-dhara. As stated in Bhagavad-gita, one can be promoted to the planets of the demigods or to the planets of the Pitas (forefathers), or even to the Vaikuntha planets, simply through the process of hearing. These things have already been explained in previous chapters.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/sb/4/29/13

Previous: SB 4.29.12     Next: SB 4.29.14

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada