nalini nalini nase
gandhah saurabha ucyate
ghrano vadhuto mukhyasyam
vipano vag rasavid rasah
nalininamed Nalini; nalininamed Nalini; nasethe two nostrils; gandhaharoma; saurabhahSaurabha (fragrance); ucyateis called; ghranahthe sense of smell; avadhutahcalled Avadhuta; mukhyacalled Mukhya (principal); asyamthe mouth; vipanahnamed Vipana; vakthe faculty of speech; rasa-vitnamed Rasajna (expert in tasting); rasahthe sense of taste.
The two doors named Nalini and Nalini should be known as the two nostrils, and the city named Saurabha represents aroma. The companion spoken of as Avadhuta is the sense of smell. The door called Mukhya is the mouth, and Vipana is the faculty of speech. Rasajna is the sense of taste.
The word avadhuta means most free. A person is not under the rules and regulations of any injunction when he has attained the stage of avadhuta. In other words, he can act as he likes. This avadhuta stage is exactly like air, which does not care for any obstruction. In Bhagavad-gita (6.34) it is said:
The mind is restless, turbulent, obstinate and very strong, O Krsna, and to subdue it is, it seems to me, more difficult than controlling the wind.
Just as the air or wind cannot be checked by anyone, the two nostrils, situated in one place, enjoy the sense of smell without impediment. When the tongue is present, the mouth continually tastes all kinds of relishable foodstuffs.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/sb/4/29/11

Previous: SB 4.29.10     Next: SB 4.29.12

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada