yugani yuga-manam ca
dharmo yas ca yuge yuge
yad ascaryatamam hareh
yuganithe different ages; yuga-manamthe duration of each age; caas well as; dharmahthe particular occupational duty; yah caand which; yuge yugein each and every yuga, or particular age; avatarathe incarnation; anucaritamand the activities of the incarnation; yatwhich; ascaryatamamthe most wonderful activities; harehof the Supreme Lord.
Please explain all the different ages in the duration of the creation, and also the duration of such ages. Also tell me about the different activities of the different incarnations of the Lord in different ages.
Lord Krsna is the original Personality of Godhead, and all the incarnations of the Supreme Lord, although nondifferent from Him, are emanations from the Supreme. Maharaja Pariksit inquired from the great and learned sage Sukadeva Gosvami about the different activities of such incarnations so that the incarnation of the Lord might be confirmed by His activities in the authoritative scriptures. Maharaja Pariksit was not to be carried away by the sentiments of the common man to accept an incarnation of the Lord very cheaply. Instead he wished to accept the incarnation of the Lord by symptoms mentioned in the Vedic literatures and confirmed by an acarya like Sukadeva Gosvami. The Lord descends by His internal energy without any obligation to the laws of material nature, and thus His activities are also uncommon. The specific activities of the Lord are mentioned, and one should know that the activities of the Lord and the Lord Himself are identical due to being on the absolute plane. Thus to hear the activities of the Lord means to associate with the Lord directly, and association with the Lord directly means purification from material contamination. We have already discussed this point in the previous volume.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/sb/2/8/17

Previous: SB 2.8.16     Next: SB 2.8.18

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada