TEXT 271
krsna-lila amrta-sara, tara sata sata dhara,
dasa-dike vahe yaha haite
se caitanya-lila haya, sarovara aksaya,
mano-hamsa caraha' tahate
krsna-lila amrta-sarathe pastimes of Lord Krsna are the essence of all eternal bliss; tara sata sata dharathe flow of that eternal bliss is running in hundreds of branches; dasa-dikein all the ten directions; vaheflows; yaha haitefrom which; sethose; caitanya-lilapastimes of Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu; hayaare; sarovara aksayaa transcendental eternal lake; manah-hamsamy mind, which is like a swan; caraha'-please wander; tahatein that lake.
The pastimes of Lord Krsna are the essence of all nectar. They flow in hundreds of rivulets and in all directions. The pastimes of Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu are an eternal reservoir, and one is advised to let his mind swim like a swan on this transcendental lake.
The essence of spiritual knowledge is found in the pastimes of Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu, which are identical with the pastimes of Lord Krsna. This is the essence of knowledge. If knowledge does not include the understanding of Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu and Krsna, it is simply superfluous. By Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu's grace, the nectar of Lord Sri Krsna's pastimes is flowing in different directions in hundreds and thousands of rivers. One should not think that the pastimes of Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu are different from Krsna's pastimes. It is said: sri-krsna-caitanya, radha-krsna nahe anya. Lord Caitanya Mahaprabhu is a combination of Radha-Krsna, and without understanding His pastimes, one cannot understand Radha and Krsna. Srila Narottama dasa Thakura therefore sings: rupa-raghunatha-pade haibe akuti kabe hama bujhaba se yugala piriti. "When shall I become very eager to study the books left by the six Gosvamis? Then I shall be able to understand the conjugal pastimes of Radha and Krsna." Caitanya Mahaprabhu directly empowered Srila Rupa Gosvami and Srila Sanatana Gosvami. Following in their footsteps, the other six Gosvamis understood Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu and His mission. One should understand Sri Krsna Caitanya and Lord Sri Krsna from the Gosvamis in the parampara system. This Krsna consciousness movement is following as strictly as possible in the footsteps of the Gosvamis. Narottama dasa Thakura says, ei chaya gosani yara, mui tara dasa: "I am the servant of the six Gosvamis." The philosophy of Krsna consciousness is to become the servant of the servant of the servant of the Lord. Whoever wants to understand the difficult subject matter of krsna-katha should accept the disciplic succession. If one is somehow or other able to understand Krsna, his life will be successful. Tyaktva deham punar janma naiti mam eti so 'rjuna. A perfect devotee is able to understand Krsna through the disciplic succession, and his entrance into the kingdom of God is thereby certainly opened. When one understands Krsna, there is no difficulty in transferring oneself to the spiritual kingdom.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/cc/madhya/25/271

Previous: Madhya 25.270     Next: Madhya 25.272

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada