nirveda-harsadi--tetrisa 'vyabhicari'
saba mili' 'rasa' haya camatkarakari
nirveda-harsa-adi—complete despondency, jubilation and so on; tetrisa—thirty-three; vyabhicari-transitory elements; saba mili'-all meeting together; rasa-the mellows; haya-becomes; camatkarakari-a cause of wonder.
"There are other ingredients beginning with complete despondency and jubilation. Altogether there are thirty-three varieties, and when these combine, the mellow becomes very wonderful.
Nirveda, harsa, and other symptoms are explained in Madhya-lila (14.167). The transitory elements (vyabhicari) are described in the Bhakti-rasamrta-sindhu as follows:
athocyante trayas trimsad-
bhava ye vyabhicarinah
caranti sthayinam prati
vag-anga-sattva-sucya ye
jneyas te vyabhicarinah
sancarayanti bhavasya
gatim sancarino 'pi te
unmajjanti nimajjanti
urmivad vardhayanty enam
yanti tad-rupatam ca te
There are thirty-three transitory elements known as vyabhicari-ecstatic emotions. They especially wander about the permanent sentiments as assistants. They are to be known by words, by different symptoms seen in the limbs and in other parts of the body, and by the peculiar conditions of the heart. Because they set in motion the progress of the permanent sentiments, they are specifically called sancari, or impelling principles. These impelling principles rise up and fall back in the permanent sentiments of ecstatic love like waves in an ocean of ecstasy. Consequently they are called vyabhicari.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/cc/madhya/23/52

Previous: Madhya 23.51     Next: Madhya 23.53

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada