ye caiva sattvika bhava
rajasas tamasas ca ye
matta eveti tan viddhi
na tv aham tesu te mayi
ye—all those; ca—and; eva—certainly; sattvikahin goodness; bhavahstates of being; rajasahmode of passion; tamasah—mode of ignorance; ca—also; ye—although; mattah—from Me; eva—certainly; itithus; tan—those; viddhitry to know; na—not; tu—but; aham—I; tesu—in those; te—they; mayi—unto Me.
All states of being—be they of goodness, passion or ignorance—are manifested by My energy. I am, in one sense, everything—but I am independant. I am not under the modes of this material nature.
All material activities in the world are being conducted under the three modes of material nature. Although these material modes of nature are emanations from the Supreme Lord, Krsna, He is not subject to them. For instance, under the state laws one may be punished, but the king, the lawmaker, is not subject to that law. Similarly, all the modes of material nature—goodness, passion and ignorance—are emanations from the Supreme Lord Krsna, but Krsna is not subject to material nature. Therefore He is nirguna, which means that these gunas, or modes, although issuing from Him, do not affect Him. That is one of the special characteristics of Bhagavan, or the Supreme Personality of Godhead.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/bg/7/12

Previous: Bg 7.11     Next: Bg 7.13

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada