tasyapi bhagavan esa
saksad brahmamayo harih
amsamsena caturdhagat
putratvam prarthitah suraih
satrughna iti samjnaya
tasya—of him, Maharaja Dasaratha; api—also; bhagavan—the Supreme Personality of Godhead; esah—all of them; saksat—directly; brahma-mayah—the Supreme Parabrahman, the Absolute Truth; harih—the Supreme Personality of Godhead; amsa-amsena—by an expansion of a plenary portion; caturdha—by fourfold expansions; agat—accepted; putratvam—sonhood; prarthitah—being prayed for; suraih—by the demigods; rama—Lord Ramacandra; laksmana—Lord Laksmana; bharata—Lord Bharata; satrughnah—and Lord Satrughna; iti—thus; samjnaya—by different names.
Being prayed for by the demigods, the Supreme Personality of Godhead, the Absolute Truth Himself, directly appeared with His expansion and expansions of the expansion. Their holy names were Rama, Laksmana, Bharata and Satrughna. These celebrated incarnations thus appeared in four forms as the sons of Maharaja Dasaratha.
Lord Ramacandra and His brothers, Laksmana, Bharata and Satrughna, are all visnu-tattva, not jiva-tattva. The Supreme Personality of Godhead expands into many, many forms. Advaitam acyutam anadim ananta-rupam [Bs 5.33]. Although they are one and the same, visnu-tattva has many forms and incarnations. As confirmed in the Brahma-samhita (5.39), ramadi-murtisu kala-niyamena tisthan. The Lord is situated in many forms, such as Rama, Laksmana, Bharata and Satrughna, and these forms may exist in any part of His creation. All these forms exist permanently, eternally, as individual Personalities of Godhead, and they resemble many candles, all equally powerful. Lord Ramacandra, Laksmana, Bharata and Satrughna, who, being visnu-tattva, are all equally powerful, became the sons of Maharaja Dasaratha in response to prayers by the demigods.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/sb/9/10/2

Previous: SB 9.10.1     Next: SB 9.10.3

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada