dharmam artham ca kamam ca
nitaram canupurvasah
prahradayocatu rajan
prasritavanataya ca
dharmam—mundane occupational duty; artham—economic development; ca—and; kamam—sense gratification; ca—and; nitaram—always; ca—and; anupurvasah—according to order, or from the beginning to the end; prahradaya—unto Prahlada Maharaja; ucatuh—they spoke; rajan—O King; prasrita—who was humble; avanataya—and submissive; ca—also.
Thereafter, Sanda and Amarka systematically and unceasingly taught Prahlada Maharaja, who was very submissive and humble, about mundane religion, economic development and sense gratification.
There are four processes for human society—dharma, artha, kama and moksa—and they culminate in liberation. Human society must follow a process of religion to advance, and on the basis of religion one should try to develop his economic condition so that he can fulfill his needs for sense gratification according to the religious rules and regulations. Then liberation from material bondage will be easier to attain. That is the Vedic process. When one is above the stages of dharma, artha, kama and moksa, one becomes a devotee. He is then on the platform from which he is guaranteed not to fall again to material existence (yad gatva na nivartante [Bg. 15.6]). As advised in Bhagavad-gita if one transcends these four processes and is actually liberated, one engages in devotional service. Then he is guaranteed not to fall to material existence again.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/sb/7/5/52

Previous: SB 7.5.51     Next: SB 7.5.53

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada