tvam sapta-tantun vitanosi tanva
trayya catur-hotraka-vidyaya ca
tvam eka atmatmavatam anadir
ananta-parah kavir antaratma
tvam—you; sapta-tantun—the seven kinds of Vedic ritualistic ceremonies, beginning from the agnistoma-yajna; vitanosi—spread; tanva—by your body; trayya—the three Vedas; catuh-hotraka—of the four kinds of Vedic priests, known as hota, adhvaryu, brahma and udgata; vidyaya—by the necessary knowledge; ca—also; tvam—you; ekah—one; atma—the Supersoul; atma-vatam—of all living entities; anadih—without beginning; ananta-parah—without end; kavih—the supreme inspirer; antah-atma—the Supersoul within the core of the heart.
My dear lord, by your form as the Vedas personified and through knowledge relating to the activities of all the yajnic brahmanas, you spread the Vedic ritualistic ceremonies of the seven kinds of sacrifices, headed by agnistoma. Indeed, you inspire the yajnic brahmanas to perform the rituals mentioned in the three Vedas. Being the Supreme Soul, the Supersoul of all living entities, you are beginningless, endless and omniscient, beyond the limits of time and space.
The Vedic ritualistic ceremonies, the knowledge thereof, and the person who agrees to perform them are inspired by the Supreme Soul. As confirmed in Bhagavad-gita, mattah smrtir jnanam apohanam ca: [Bg. 15.15] from the Lord come remembrance, knowledge and forgetfulness. The Supersoul is situated in everyone’s heart (sarvasya caham hrdi sannivistah, isvarah sarva-bhutanam hrd-dese ’rjuna tisthati [Bg. 18.61]), and when one is advanced in Vedic knowledge, the Supersoul gives him directions. Acting as Supersoul, the Lord gives inspiration to a suitable person to perform the Vedic ritualistic ceremonies. In this connection, four classes of priests, known as rtvik, are required. They are mentioned as hota, adhvaryu, brahma and udgata.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/sb/7/3/30

Previous: SB 7.3.29     Next: SB 7.3.31

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada