supti-prabodhayoh sandhav
atmano gatim atma-drk
pasyan bandham ca moksam ca
maya-matram na vastutah
supti—in the state of unconsciousness; prabodhayoh—and in the state of consciousness; sandhau—in the state of marginal existence; atmanah—of oneself; gatim—the movement; atma-drk—one who can actually see the self; pasyan—always trying to see or understand; bandham—the conditional state of life; ca—and; moksam—the liberated state of life; ca—also; maya-matram—only illusion; na—not; vastutah—in fact.
During unconsciousness and consciousness, and between the two, he should try to understand the self and be fully situated in the self. In this way, he should realize that the conditional and liberated stages of life are only illusory and not actually factual. With such a higher understanding, he should see only the Absolute Truth pervading everything.
The unconscious state is nothing but ignorance, darkness or material existence, and in the conscious state one is awake. The marginal state, between consciousness and unconsciousness, has no permanent existence. Therefore one who is advanced in understanding the self should understand that unconsciousness and consciousness are but illusions, for they fundamentally do not exist. Only the Supreme Absolute Truth exists. As confirmed by the Lord in Bhagavad-gita (9.4):
“By Me, in My unmanifested form, this entire universe is pervaded. All beings are in Me, but I am not in them.” Everything exists on the basis of Krsna’s impersonal feature; nothing can exist without Krsna. Therefore the advanced devotee of Krsna can see the Lord everywhere, without illusion.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/sb/7/13/5

Previous: SB 7.13.4     Next: SB 7.13.6

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada