pancendriyartha arama
dvarah prana nava prabho
tejo-b-annani kosthani
kulam indriya-sangrahah
panca—five; indriya-arthah—sense objects; aramah—the gardens; dvarah—gates; pranah—apertures of the senses; nava—nine; prabho—O King; tejah-ap—fire, water; annani—food grains or earth; kosthani—apartments; kulam—families; indriya-sangrahah—five senses and the mind.
My dear friend, the five gardens are the five objects of sense enjoyment, and the protector is the life air, which passes through the nine gates. The three apartments are the chief ingredients—fire, water and earth. The six families are the aggregate total of the mind and five senses.
The five senses that acquire knowledge are sight, taste, smell, sound and touch, and these act through the nine gates—the two eyes, two ears, one mouth, two nostrils, one genital and one rectum. These holes are compared to gates in the walls of the city. The principal ingredients are earth, water and fire, and the principal actor is the mind, which is controlled by the intelligence (buddhi).

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/sb/4/28/57

Previous: SB 4.28.56     Next: SB 4.28.58

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada