tusita nama te deva
asan svayambhuvantare
marici-misra rsayo
yajnah sura-ganesvarah
tusitah—the category of the Tusitas; nama—of the name; te—all of them; devah—demigods; asan—became; svayambhuva—the name of the Manu; antare—at that period; marici-misrah—headed by Marici; rsayah—great sages; yajnah—the incarnation of Lord Visnu; sura-gana-isvarah—the king of the demigods.
During the time of Svayambhuva Manu, these sons all became the demigods collectively named the Tusitas. Marici became the head of the seven rsis, and Yajna became the king of the demigods, Indra.
During the life of Svayambhuva Manu, six kinds of living entities were generated from the demigods known as the Tusitas, from the sages headed by Marici, and from descendants of Yajna, king of the demigods, and all of them expanded their progeny to observe the order of the Lord to fill the universe with living entities. These six kinds of living entities are known as manus, devas, manu-putras, amsavataras, suresvaras and rsis. Yajna, being the incarnation of the Supreme Personality of Godhead, became the leader of the demigods, Indra.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/sb/4/1/8

Previous: SB 4.1.7     Next: SB 4.1.9

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada