iti prabhasya tam devi
maya bhagavati bhuvi
bahu-nama babhuva ha
iti—in this way; prabhasya—addressing; tamKamsa; devi—the goddess Durga; mayaYogamaya; bhagavati—possessing immense power, like that of the Supreme Personality of Godhead; bhuvi—on the surface of the earth; bahu-nama—of different names; niketesu—in different places; bahu-nama—different names; babhuva—became; ha—indeed.
After speaking to Kamsa in this way, the goddess Durga, Yogamaya, appeared in different places, such as Varanasi, and became celebrated by different names, such as Annapurna, Durga, Kali and Bhadra.
The goddess Durga is celebrated in Calcutta as Kali, in Bombay as Mumbadevi, in Varanasi as Annapurna, in Cuttack as Bhadrakali and in Ahmedabad as Bhadra. Thus in different places she is known by different names. Her devotees are known as saktas, or worshipers of the energy of the Supreme Personality of Godhead, whereas worshipers of the Supreme Personality of Godhead Himself are called Vaisnavas. Vaisnavas are destined to return home, back to Godhead, in the spiritual world, whereas the saktas are destined to live within this material world to enjoy different types of material happiness. In the material world, the living entity must accept different types of bodies. Bhramayan sarva-bhutani yantrarudhani mayaya (Bg. 18.61). According to the living entity’s desire, Yogamaya, or Maya, the goddess Durga, gives him a particular type of body, which is mentioned as yantra, a machine. But the living entities who are promoted to the spiritual world do not return to the prison house of a material body (tyaktva deham punar janma naiti mam eti so’rjuna [Bg. 4.9]). The words janma na eti indicate that these living entities remain in their original, spiritual bodies to enjoy the company of the Supreme Personality of Godhead in the transcendental abodes Vaikuntha and Vrndavana.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/sb/10/4/13

Previous: SB 10.4.12     Next: SB 10.4.14

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada