ta eta rsayo vedam
svam svam vyasyann anekadha
sisyaih prasisyais tac-chisyair
vedas te sakhino 'bhavan
te—they; ete—all these; rsayah—learned scholars; vedam—the respective Vedas; svam svam—in their own entrusted matters; vyasyan—rendered; anekadha—many; sisyaih—disciples; prasisyaih—grand-disciples; tat-sisyaih—great grand-disciples; vedah te—followers of the respective Vedas; sakhinah—different branches; abhavan—thus became.
All these learned scholars, in their turn, rendered their entrusted Vedas unto their many disciples, grand-disciples and great grand-disciples, and thus the respective branches of the followers of the Vedas came into being.
The original source of knowledge is the Vedas. There are no branches of knowledge, either mundane or transcendental, which do not belong to the original text of the Vedas. They have simply been developed into different branches, They were originally rendered by great, respectable and learned professors. In other words, the Vedic knowledge, broken into different branches by different disciplic successions, has been distributed all over the world. No one, therefore, can claim independent knowledge beyond the Vedas.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/sb/1/4/23

Previous: SB 1.4.22     Next: SB 1.4.24

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada