Babaji Initiation

Chicago, July 11, 1975
Prabhupada: ...I am accepting this dress following the footprints of other acaryas. This dress was accepted by Rupa Gosvami, not ordinary person. The six Gosvamis, they accepted. It is called paramahamsa stage, sannyasi's highest stage. Sannyasi has got four stages: kuticaka, bahudaka, parivrajakacarya and paramahamsa. Kuticaka means when he takes sannyasa, he is not accustomed to beg; therefore he makes a small cottage outside the village, and the foodstuff comes from the home or somebody sends. In this way, when he is little practiced, then he goes door to door, begs, bahudaka. Then he is more practiced: parivrajakacarya, he travels all over the world. And after that, when he is fully mature, he can chant one place Hare Krsna. He has no more business. So this is the last stage of mature sannyasa. But because you are thinking that you may not live many years, so you simply sit down, go to Mayapur. You have no other business. Simply go on chanting Hare Krsna mantra, and whatever little prasadam available, you take. And the rest of your life simply engage in chanting. That will be success.
Tamala Krsna: Is he supposed to get a name, Prabhupada?
Prabhupada: Name is the same.
Brahmananda: Audolomi dasa Babaji?
Prabhupada: Ah, Audolomi dasa Babaji. That's all. Hare Krsna. So this is the first time in our institution: a babaji. So it is not to be imitated. It is the paramahamsa stage when one is very mature in sannyasa life, for that, not for ordinary person. Don't request, "Give me sannyasa. Give me babaji." Don't do that. It is not a fashion. It is a stage of realization. That's all. (end)

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/classes/initiations/babaji_initiation/chicago/july/11/1975

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada