TEXTS 14-15
adau sraddha tatah sadhu-
sango 'tha bhajana-kriya
tato 'nartha-nivrttih syat
tato nistha rucis tatah
athasaktis tato bhavas
tatah premabhyudancati
sadhakanam ayam premnah
pradurbhave bhavet kramah
adau—in the beginning; sraddha—firm faith, or disinterest in material affairs and interest in spiritual advancement; tatah—thereafter; sadhu-sangah—association with pure devotees; atha—then; bhajana-kriya—performance of devotional service to Krsna (surrendering to the spiritual master and being encouraged by the association of devotees, so that initiation takes place); tatah—thereafter; anartha-nivrttih—the diminishing of all unwanted habits; syat—there should be; tatah—then; nistha—firm faith; rucih—taste; tatah—thereafter; atha—then; asaktih—attachment; tatah—then; bhavah—emotion of affection; tatah—thereafter; prema—love of God; abhyudancati—arises; sadhakanam—of the devotees practicing Krsna consciousness; ayam—this; premnah—of love of Godhead; pradurbhave—in the appearance; bhavet—is; kramah—the chronological order.
" 'In the beginning there must be faith. Then one becomes interested in associating with pure devotees. Thereafter one is initiated by the spiritual master and executes the regulative principles under his orders. Thus one is freed from all unwanted habits and becomes firmly fixed in devotional service. Thereafter, one develops taste and attachment. This is the way of sadhana-bhakti, the execution of devotional service according to the regulative principles. Gradually emotions intensify, and finally there is an awakening of love. This is the gradual development of love of Godhead for the devotee interested in Krsna consciousness.'

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/cc/madhya/23/14-15

Previous: Madhya 23.13     Next: Madhya 23.16

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada