TEXT 180
ei saba kṛṣṇa-bhakti-rasera sthāyibhāva
sthāyibhāve mile yadi vibhāva, anubhāva
ei saba—all these; kṛṣṇa-bhakti—of devotional service to Kṛṣṇa; rasera—of the mellows; sthāyi-bhāva—continuous existence; sthāyi-bhāve—in this continuous existence; mile—one meets; yadi—if; vibhāva—special ecstasy; anubhāva—subecstasy.
"All these stages combined are called sthāyibhāva, or continuous love of Godhead in devotional service. In addition to these stages, there are vibhāva and anubhāva.
Attachment for Kṛṣṇa never wanes; it increases more and more as one attains different stages. All the stages together are called sthāyibhāva, or continuous existence. The nine forms of devotional service are śravaṇaṁ kīrtanaṁ viṣṇoḥ smaraṇaṁ pāda-sevanam arcanaṁ vandanaṁ dāsyaṁ sakhyam ātma-nivedanam. When continuous love of Godhead is mixed with the processes of devotional service, it is called vibhāva, anubhāva, sāttvika and vyabhicārī. The devotee thus enjoys a variety of transcendental bliss. In his Amṛta-pravāha-bhāṣya, Śrīla Bhaktivinoda Ṭhākura states that anubhāva can be divided into thirteen categories: (1) dancing, (2) rolling on the ground, (3) singing, (4) yelling, (5) jumping, (6) making loud noises, (7) yawning, (8) heavy breathing, (9) not caring for public opinion, (10) discharging saliva, (11) roaring laughter, (12) unsteadiness and (13) hiccupping. These are the symptoms of anubhāva. Thus the transcendental mellows are experienced in different stages. Similarly, there are many other forms of expression that have been analytically studied by the Gosvāmīs. In the Bhakti-rasāmṛta-sindhu, Rūpa Gosvāmī gives each and every symptom a particular name.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/cc/madhya/19/180

Previous: Madhya 19.179     Next: Madhya 19.181

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada