TEXT 180
ei saba krsna-bhakti-rasera sthayibhava
sthayibhave mile yadi vibhava, anubhava
ei sabaall these; krsna-bhaktiof devotional service to Krsna; raseraof the mellows; sthayi-bhavacontinuous existence; sthayi-bhavein this continuous existence; mileone meets; yadiif; vibhavaspecial ecstasy; anubhavasubecstasy.
"All these stages combined are called sthayibhava, or continuous love of Godhead in devotional service. In addition to these stages, there are vibhava and anubhava.
Attachment for Krsna never wanes; it increases more and more as one attains different stages. All the stages together are called sthayibhava, or continuous existence. The nine forms of devotional service are sravanam kirtanam visnoh smaranam pada-sevanam arcanam vandanam dasyam sakhyam atma-nivedanam. When continuous love of Godhead is mixed with the processes of devotional service, it is called vibhava, anubhava, sattvika and vyabhicari. The devotee thus enjoys a variety of transcendental bliss. In his Amrta-pravaha-bhasya, Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakura states that anubhava can be divided into thirteen categories: (1) dancing, (2) rolling on the ground, (3) singing, (4) yelling, (5) jumping, (6) making loud noises, (7) yawning, (8) heavy breathing, (9) not caring for public opinion, (10) discharging saliva, (11) roaring laughter, (12) unsteadiness and (13) hiccupping. These are the symptoms of anubhava. Thus the transcendental mellows are experienced in different stages. Similarly, there are many other forms of expression that have been analytically studied by the Gosvamis. In the Bhakti-rasamrta-sindhu, Rupa Gosvami gives each and every symptom a particular name.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/cc/madhya/19/180

Previous: Madhya 19.179     Next: Madhya 19.181

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada