TEXT 221
yanra dhyana nija-loke kare padmasana
astadasaksara-mantre kare upasana
yanra—of whom; dhyana—the meditation; nija-loke—in his own abode; kare—does; padma-asana—Lord Brahma; astadasa-aksara-mantre—by the hymn composed of eighteen letters; kare—does; upasana—worshiping.
Lord Brahma, sitting on his lotus seat in his own abode, always meditates on Him and worships Him with the mantra consisting of eighteen syllables.
In his own planet, Lord Brahma, with the inhabitants of that planet, worships the form of Lord Govinda, Krsna, by the mantra of eighteen syllables, klim krsnaya govindaya gopi-jana-vallabhaya svaha. Those who are initiated by a bona fide spiritual master and who chant the Gayatri mantra three times a day know this astadasaksara (eighteen-syllable) mantra. The inhabitants of Brahmaloka and the planets below Brahmaloka worship Lord Govinda by meditating with this mantra. There is no difference between meditating and chanting, but in the present age meditation is not possible on this planet. Therefore loud chanting of a mantra like the maha-mantra, Hare Krsna, with soft chanting of the astadasaksara, the mantra of eighteen syllables, is recommended.
Lord Brahma lives in the highest planetary system, known as Brahmaloka or Satyaloka. In every planet there is a predominating deity. As the predominating deity in Satyaloka is Lord Brahma, so in the heavenly planets Indra is the predominating deity, and on the sun, the sun-god, Vivasvan, is the predominating deity. The inhabitants and predominating deities of every planet are all recommended to worship Govinda either by meditation or by chanting.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/cc/adi/5/221

Previous: Adi 5.220     Next: Adi 5.222

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada