dasya, sakhya, vatsalya, srngara--cari rasa
cari bhavera bhakta yata krsna tara vasa
dasyaservitude; sakhyafriendship; vatsalyaparental affection; srngaraconjugal love; carifour; rasamellows; carifour; bhaveraof the sentiments; bhaktadevotees; yataas many as there are; krsnaLord Krsna; taraby them; vasasubdued.
Servitude [dasya], friendship [sakhya], parental affection [vatsalya] and conjugal love [srngara] are the four transcendental mellows [rasas]. By the devotees who cherish these four mellows, Lord Krsna is subdued.
Dasya, sakhya, vatsalya and srngara are the transcendental modes of loving service to the Lord. Santa-rasa, or the neutral stage, is not mentioned in this verse because although in santa-rasa one considers the Absolute Truth the sublime great, one does not go beyond that conception. Santa-rasa is a very grand idea for materialistic philosophers, but such idealistic appreciation is only the beginning; it is the lowest among the relationships in the spiritual world. Santa-rasa is not given much importance because as soon as there is a slight understanding between the knower and the known, active loving transcendental reciprocations and exchanges begin. Dasya-rasa is the basic relationship between Krsna and His devotees; therefore this verse considers dasya the first stage of transcendental devotional service.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/cc/adi/3/11

Previous: Adi 3.10     Next: Adi 3.12

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada