nitya ratre kari ami bhavani-pujana
amara mahima dekha, brahmana-sajjana
nitya ratreevery night; kariI do; amiI; bhavani-pujanaworship of Bhavani, the wife of Lord Siva; amaramy; mahimaglories; dekhayou see; brahmana-sat-janaall respectable brahmanas.
"Gentlemen, every night I worship the goddess Bhavani. Since the paraphernalia for the worship is present here, now all you respectable brahmanas and members of the higher castes can understand my position."
According to the Vedic system there are four castes-the brahmanas, ksatriyas, vaisyas and sudras-and below them are the pancamas, who are lower than the sudras. The higher castes-the brahmanas, the ksatriyas and even the vaisyas-were known as brahmana-saj-jana. The brahmanas especially were known as sajjana, or respectable gentlemen who guided the entire society. If there were disputes in the village, people would approach these respectable brahmanas to settle them. Now it is very difficult to find such brahmanas and saj-janas, and thus every village and town is so disrupted that there is no peace and happiness anywhere. To revive a fully cultured civilization, the scientific division of society into brahmanas, ksatriyas, vaisyas and sudras must be introduced all over the world. Unless some people are trained as brahmanas, there cannot be peace in human society.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/cc/adi/17/42

Previous: Adi 17.41     Next: Adi 17.43

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada