siṁha-rāśi, siṁha-lagna, ucca graha-gaṇa
ṣaḍ-varga, aṣṭa-varga, sarva sulakṣaṇa
siṁha—the lion; rāśi—sign of the zodiac; siṁha—the lion; lagna—birth moment; ucca—high; graha-gaṇa—all planets; ṣaṭ-varga—six area; aṣṭa-varga—eight area; sarva—all; su-lakṣaṇa—auspiciousness.
According to the Jyotir-veda, or Vedic astronomy, when the figure of the lion appears both in the zodiac and the time of birth [lagna], this indicates a very high conjunction of planets, an area under the influence of ṣaḍ-varga and aṣṭa-varga, which are all-auspicious moments.
The divisions of the ṣaḍ-varga area are technically called kṣetra, horā, drekkāṇa, navāṁśa, dvādaśāṁśa and triṁśāṁśa. According to Jyotir-vedic astrology, when it is calculated who rules the constellation of six areas, the auspicious moment is calculated. Śrīla Bhaktisiddhānta Sarasvatī Ṭhākura, who was previously also a great astrologer, says that in the book named Bṛhaj-jātaka and other books there are directions for knowing the movements of the stars and planets. One who knows the process of drawing a straight line and thus understands the area of aṣṭa-varga can explain the auspicious constellations. This science is known especially by persons who are called horā-śāstra-vit, or those who know the scripture of the name Horā. On the strength of astrological calculations from the Horā scripture, Nīlāmbara Cakravartī, the grandfather of Śrī Caitanya Mahāprabhu, ascertained the auspicious moment in which the Lord would appear.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/cc/adi/13/90

Previous: Adi 13.89     Next: Adi 13.91

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada