simha-rasi, simha-lagna, ucca graha-gana
sad-varga, asta-varga, sarva sulaksana
simhathe lion; rasisign of the zodiac; simhathe lion; lagnabirth moment; uccahigh; graha-ganaall planets; sat-vargasix area; asta-vargaeight area; sarvaall; su-laksanaauspiciousness.
According to the Jyotir-veda, or Vedic astronomy, when the figure of the lion appears both in the zodiac and the time of birth [lagna], this indicates a very high conjunction of planets, an area under the influence of sad-varga and asta-varga, which are all-auspicious moments.
The divisions of the sad-varga area are technically called ksetra, hora, drekkana, navamsa, dvadasamsa and trimsamsa. According to Jyotir-vedic astrology, when it is calculated who rules the constellation of six areas, the auspicious moment is calculated. Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati Thakura, who was previously also a great astrologer, says that in the book named Brhaj-jataka and other books there are directions for knowing the movements of the stars and planets. One who knows the process of drawing a straight line and thus understands the area of asta-varga can explain the auspicious constellations. This science is known especially by persons who are called hora-sastra-vit, or those who know the scripture of the name Hora. On the strength of astrological calculations from the Hora scripture, Nilambara Cakravarti, the grandfather of Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu, ascertained the auspicious moment in which the Lord would appear.

Link to this page: https://prabhupadabooks.com/cc/adi/13/90

Previous: Adi 13.89     Next: Adi 13.91

If you Love Me Distribute My Books -- Srila Prabhupada